October

ROctober

And here we are. The last post of this particular series.

How do I begin to explain October?

I attended a wedding and a funeral within a week of each other.

I remembered what it was to be known by people who saw you grow in college and who still see that part of you that you had forgotten.

I wrote and wrote and wrote online. And I remembered what I love about poetry and wrote some of that too.

We prayed scary big prayers for our church while Drew preached two sermons on his heart. And we saw those answered just this week. And we’re still seeing them answered.

We prayed scary big prayers for our family and our ministry that are still working themselves out. We are praying scary big prayers for a house and for bluebird living and for God to work things out for our good and His glory.

We stepped away for a weekend and came back and saw that God works when we aren’t around. Or aware.

And here, at the start of November, I can already list ways that God has answered big, scary prayers and ways that He works in big, mysterious ways.

But that list can be summed in one phrase: He is faithful.

When we can’t see. When we are confounded. When we are faithful and when we aren’t. When we believe with all of our being and when we doubt and sink and flounder.

He is faithful to bring us the right reminders at the right times. He is faithful to draw us to Himself in all seasons and all trials. He is faithful to teach us, to lead us, to comfort us. He is faithful in big ways and in small ways. He is faithful to the working dad and the stay at home mom. He is faithful when His saints are pure and undefiled and when they are scummed up and broken. He is faithful in His steadfast, uncompromising, unconditional love and in His desire for our good, even when it hurts us.

He is faithful. When we are. When we aren’t. He is faithful. And He works faithfully in us.

This is my last post for this series. It’s not the end of our story or even the end of this particular season. But I believe that we are nearing the end of this chapter. That soon we will be able to look back and see these wandering years as growing years. That we will be planted by the rivers of water, bringing forth our fruit in our seasons, and prospering in all that we do (Psalm 1). But for now? We’re lengthening our ropes, strengthening our cords, and preparing to stretch out to the left and to the right, trusting that God will lead and guide us as we wait on Him.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

Have a thought? Let me know!

