June

RJune

After May’s intense season of obedience, I found myself signing up to read a book with an online book club. Pursue the Intentional Life by Jean Fleming is a wonderful read for anyone at any stage of life, even though she writes as an older woman looking to the end of her life.

Intentionality with my children and with this life in general had been my heart’s cry for several months, and I was easily drawn to this study. So much of the book confirmed my own perspective of God, how I see Him and how He reveals Himself to me. It was like chatting with an old friend, and I savored the time I spent reading it.

One of the best parts about this book study, though, was the women I met through it.

One in particular became a must-read blogger on my list. And I don’t have many that are must-reads.

Lori Harris, though, was a church planter’s wife. Working in a church plant that wanted to minister to a very specific area. An area that was hard, made her family see hard things, and was not what she had originally wanted at all.

What drew me in was her heart for these people. And her frustrations with the people in her church, mostly for not seeing the same vision that she and her husband saw. And she loved them anyway. All of them. Because that’s what God had called her to do.

So many times, I feel a kinship with her posts. Not that the church plant we’re working with is in the exact same boat, but many of the frustrations can be the same. Then again, it can be the same at any church: the leadership desperately wants the members of the church to grow while the members are content to simmer in their favorite sauces.

Y’all, she is real. Her posts are good. And her bravery inspires me.

I mention her on this last day of October, this last day of the Write31Days series. It’s fitting, not just with the timeline of this past year but also with the timeline of her year. This month, their church plant closed its doors. But her family? They’re still living the Jesus-filled, missional life in their neighborhood.

That’s brave.

That’s being the Church.

And that’s the way I want to live my life.

Being Jesus to the least of these even if no one else is following. Grace.

{Housekeeping Note: I will finish this series next week. I am taking the weekend off to relax a bit, but I hope to end the series next Thursday.}

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

Have a thought? Let me know!

