The Gospels

RGospels

Sometimes…God prepares us for future events before we realize we need a specific message. That’s where I found myself a year ago while immersed in the Gospels.

As I read, I kept seeing specific messages. Certain verses stuck out, and I wrote them out in my 3-subject spiral notebook. Each of those verses came with certain reminders, and I wrote those out, too, as well as a prayer.

I spent weeks in Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

I spent time in those books, too. Lots of time. I kept hungering and thirsting after those verses, those words.

And when the time came when I needed that message, I could look back and see the truth over the lies. I could see the hope in the middle of the darkness.

Truthfully, that time showed me how I best process the Word. I need time to read, time to write, and time to pray. I need to see it, sometimes in several ways, to internalize the message. At times that means writing it out or praying the words. At others, it means drawing, coloring, or even embroidering.

The more I internalize, the more I can make the Word my own…and the more that I find my life revolving around God instead of myself.

I need this reminder daily.

I need the reminder of His faithfulness daily.

I need the Word daily.

That’s the point of daily Bible study. Not to know more than others. Not to shove it in their faces or quote it when they’re wrong. It’s so that the Word shapes and molds your own life. So that when you’re in the darkness, you can still see the Light.

So that when others fail you, when you question them, when the people you have trusted to speak truth are speaking lies? You can rest in God and His fullness.

It’s the only way we can make it through this life.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

 

Have a thought? Let me know!

