She Reads Truth

RSRT

That summer, I noticed that I had not been in the Word as often as I needed to be. I had heard of She Reads Truth through various social media sites, and I decided to join along for their Nehemiah study.

Nehemiah floored me.

His attitude, his response to sudden leadership, and his heart all changed the direction of my own heart. I’d read about his mission to rebuild the wall around Jerusalem, but I had missed how he led the Israelites through it.

How he had fasted and prayed to seek God’s will. How when the mission was burdened on his heart, he went (with permission and even favor from the king!) And then at the end, when Ezra read the Law to the Israelites, how their joy came through obedience.

Obedience bringing joy? Who knew?!

Through the summer and into the fall, I studied with the ladies of She Reads Truth. I learned so much through the verses that they used and through the fellowship with other believers. And through the posts (and my vulnerability) on Instagram, I found the support that I needed.

Several women have rallied around me, lifting me up in prayer and encouraging me through the past year or so. Encouragement when I needed it most. Prayer when I felt silly asking for it. And while I’m still learning how to be a friend in the online community, I’m so thankful that God has blessed this area of obedience too.

I stopped reading the She Reads Truth passages and devotionals just a few months after I had begun. God led me to read the Gospels instead of starting the next study, much to my dismay. But yet again, I wanted to be obedient in all things.

Even though I’ve stopped keeping up with the lessons, the women I truly connected with have covered my family in prayer. They lift me up when I can’t lift myself off of the ground. And they continue to bless my socks off. I am so blessed.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

 

One thought on “She Reads Truth

Have a thought? Let me know!

