New Job

RNJob

Drew had been working a dead-end job for over a year. This job came with no benefits and no time off. We were making ends meet, and that was about it. Things were tight.

By tight, I mean stretched to the max.

Somehow, I learned how to cook and bake from scratch (thank you, food blogs!) That helped a good bit. So did staying far away from any restaurant establishment. Period.

I had also learned how to make my own laundry detergent (though it would have worked better if our washing machine had access to a water heater.) Keeping up with cloth diapers also helped. And, oh my word, the girls never, ever lacked for clothes. (We’re still going through them. And still swamped in little girl clothes. It’s a good problem to have, y’all.)

But. Let me tell you. When a member of Koinonia called him about a job offer in our town? One that would keep him fairly close by while also keeping our gas costs down? Where he could actually get raises and move forward? We. Were. Ecstatic.

It took a little longer for his first check to come through, and there were a couple of hiccups that made us question if we had made the right choice. But ever since Drew started his new job, we’ve seen our finances stabilize. The company he works for has seen an increase in business even as their faithful customers have had significant declines.

God is being faithful, even in our waiting. Even in our search for the thing, the ministry that He is calling us to. He is faithful, even now.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

One thought on “New Job

Have a thought? Let me know!

