Jessie

RJessie

There are some people in this life that you meet and you just hit it off.

Jessie was not one of those people.

We first met when she was in seventh grade and I was a sophomore in college. One of the few things we could agree on was that coffee is awesome. But she was one of four students in the drama group that had been handed to Drew, so we spent a lot of time together.

In the nearly two years that Drew worked as a ministry intern, we spent plenty of time together, but it wasn’t until after we left that we grew close. This girl has watched us closely, and she knows how messy we can be. She also knows the best side of me, the side that not many see. So when she needed a place to stay last summer, a place to crash and to keep her stuff, it was easy to ask her to stay with us.

We had already talked about “bluebird living,” the term we came up with to describe living with our arms open wide and welcoming others into our lives and home. And with Jessie there, even part-time, it was a confirmation that we needed to continue to do this.

That summer? I actually kept up with the house. I actually cooked, cleaned, and kept up with laundry. The chores that had seemed so burdensome became a blessing when they were paired with a purpose.

Drew and I started to show that purpose. We embodied it. And it was so good.

All too soon, Jessie went off to college. Even though she’s only 45 minutes away, our visits are still few and far between. But when we do see each other, it’s pure fellowship.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

Have a thought? Let me know!

