Koinonia

RKoinonia

Mid-January can feel oppressive some years. This was one of those years. We were in the middle of the awkward pauses, feeling our way around life, trying to make sense of where we were. We were desperate for direction.

Then. A random meeting with an old boss in the middle of the grocery store quickly turned into visiting a small church plant for the first time.

We weren’t blown away the first Sunday we were there, but we weren’t turned off either. There was a warmness, a friendliness that attracted us. So we visited another time. Then another. Then we started going on Wednesdays.

We kept going. Drew started teaching. And me, in all of my uncertainty and awkwardness, wore my happy church mask.

Koinonia, the name of our church, means “fellowship.” And I was doing everything to keep others from fellowshipping with me.

My experience with church had been filled with hiding. It doesn’t help that I’m introverted. But in all of my hiding, I kept people from knowing me. From helping me. And I kept myself from being useful in the Body of Christ.

Did that change overnight? No. I’m still learning what real Koinonia fellowship is. But I’m taking baby steps. And slowly the mask is coming off.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

Have a thought? Let me know!

