Blessing upon Blessing

RBlessing

 

In the Fall of that year, Drew started working as a youth minister at a small church about 10 minutes from our house. They paid him what they could afford, which wasn’t much, but it helped us tremendously. We hadn’t been there long when I found that I was pregnant again, just 9 months after Abby’s birth.

We announced our news to our families for Christmas that year, and we started praying for something to change.

Before Abby’s birthday, about 13 weeks into the pregnancy, Drew was asked if he would work on our landlord’s maintenance crew. He took the position, and we waited. Waited for the money, the position to pay off. For our debts to start closing the gaps. For something else to happen and the job fall through.

But the job didn’t fall through. And we slowly did start paying off our debts.

We also started praying for another house. We’re still praying for that house, by the way, and we know that we have not been brought this far to be dropped. Even if everything shattered around us, we would not be down for long because when you have been in the pit and you have dug down deeper to find the firm foundation, there is nothing that can make that foundation slip away. Nothing.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

One thought on “Blessing upon Blessing

Have a thought? Let me know!

