Abiella (part 2)

RAbiella2That promised job fell through. And no matter how many times he sent out his resume, no churches in the area, the state, or even the country would hire him. For a while, we lived on what we’d gotten back from our housing deposit, but that eventually ran out. Still, God was faithful, and between our parents, our family, and our friends, we wanted for nothing in the months leading up to our daughter’s birth.

Before we were even pregnant, I knew her name, and I held it close to my heart during those months. Abiella (pronounced “Abby-Ella”). It means, “God is my Father,” a reminder that He ultimately provides for, cares for, and oversees our lives.

For all that I had planned and dreamed for our little girl, we had very little that we could provide out of our own pockets. Amazingly, miraculously, the three baby showers that three different churches held provided us with exactly what we needed…and then some! I was humbled again and again as we were given blankets, towels, washcloths, clothes upon clothes, diapers, wipes, a bassinet, a high chair, a swing, and enough gift cards for a car seat and groceries for another week or two! I even had enough to start my cloth diaper stash!

By the time the Super Bowl started that year, our sweet girl had finally made her appearance, and God had once again proven His faithfulness to us in our daughter’s very life. As I adjusted to my new role, He provided the book One Thousand Gifts, and somehow the colic and desperate neediness of my newborn did not launch into full-blown post partum depression. Grace.

The next few months were a flurry of job interviews, short-term jobs, and days upon days of Drew being home with us. We struggled with wondering if we had messed up, if this was punishment for something we had done. Every time that Drew took a job, it wasn’t right. The end result was always the same: he left because his soul would not rest until he did. And God provided.

During this time, I started a blog with my sister-in-law, and we watched as it quickly grew. We wrote about natural living and family, and we were able to review products that helped offset the cost of taking care of an infant. My cloth diaper stash grew. I learned how to make my own laundry detergent. I even went “no poo,” a term that means “no shampoo” and had me using baking soda and vinegar to wash my hair…and left me with some awesome locks! These small changes helped me to keep our tight budget stretched as far as it would go.

We were broke. We got creative. And we survived. God is good, y’all.

This post is part of a 31 Days series on Raising My Ebenezer, part of my story and my own testimony of God’s goodness and faithfulness. As the song Come Thou Fount says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thine help I’m come.” For the month of October, I’ll be writing our story, outlining the Ebenezers in recognition of His mighty hand on our lives. His doings and His workings because of and sometimes in spite of our best efforts. My hope is that you’ll see a lot of Him and little to none of me. Because in the end, it is by His help that we have come this far.

3 thoughts on “Abiella (part 2)

Have a thought? Let me know!

